Pixar Marathon Wrap Up: My New Rankings and Some Bonus Fun

Hello, all!

Now that we’ve watched all the Pixar Movies (including the newly released Toy Story 4), it is time to show you my list from best to worst. As a reminder, we found the original list in our staff room (later discovering we knew who made it) and Jocelyn countered, then I made my own counter list and we decided to watch them all and re-rank. I didn’t think this series would end up being 10 posts long or that it would take us six months to go through them all! Thanks for sticking around.

Original Lists

Joel’s found list on the left and Joc’s response on the right.
My original list.

My New Rankings

These new rankings are based on how likely I’d be to rewatch them and how much I enjoyed watching them this time. Also, I’ve seen the new Toy Story 4 but I think I’d have to see it again to decide where it goes in the rankings.

20. Cars 3

19. Cars 2

18. Cars

17. Wall-E

16. A Bug’s Life

15. The Good Dinosaur

14. Monster’s University

13. Toy Story 3

12. Finding Dory

11. Incredibles 2

10. Up

9. Toy Story

8. Inside Out

7. Coco

6. Brave

5. Ratatouille

4. The Incredibles

3. Toy Story 3

2. Finding Nemo

1. Monster’s Inc. 

Bonus Fun Thing 1: Toy Story 4

The claaaaaw—theatres are now selling toys and merch.

I’m not going to spoil anything here but I will say that I enjoyed it a lot (probably more than Toy Story 3 even) and say you should watch it! My favorite moment was “the panic is attacking me!”

Bonus Fun Thing 2: Ratzenberger Sighting!

Because John Ratzenberger makes a cameo in every single Pixar Movie, we started pointing it out as soon as we noticed him. Here’s the ones we noticed right away:

  • Cars, Cars 2, Cars 3: Mack
  • A Bug’s Life: The circus leader
  • Up: construction worker
  • Toy Story, Toy Story 2, Toy Story 3, Toy Story 4: Hamm
  • Finding Nemo: school of fish
  • Finding Dory: husband crab
  • Brave: dude in the end credits scene I didn’t know existed
  • The Incredibles, Incredibles 2: the Underminer
  • Monster’s Inc., Monster’s University: the abominable snowman
  • Inside Out: one of the workers who upgrades the panel in headquarters
  • Wall-E: fat dude in a chair who knows Wall-E

These are the ones I had to look up because I wasn’t sure:

  • Coco: one of the skeletons at customs (he says one word, in a Spanish accent)
  • Ratatouille: the head waiter (has a French accent)
  • The Good Dinosaur: one of the velociraptors (has a southern accent)

Apparently, his voice is so iconic that I had trouble noticing it when he used an accent!

What’s Next?

Well, one of my 29 goals for the year was to rank Disney movies and Jocelyn hasn’t seen all of the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies, so we’re planning to watch them in order of release! Stay tuned for those posts coming up.

-Katie

Leave a comment